top of page

The title winners in the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Racing Championship (2W and 4W) were honoured

India’s latest CIK-approved karting track, measuring about 1.2 Kms, is set for inauguration later this year at the Madras International Circuit premises, Sriperumbudur, according to Madras Motor Sports Club Vice-President Vicky Chandhok.

Speaking at the MMSC Awards Function when the winners of the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle and Car Racing Championsips 2023 were honoured, Chandhok said: “We are proud to announce that the CIK-approved karting track will be inaugurated later this year. The track is being built at a cost of about Rs 16 Crore and we have received all the necessary approvals from CIK, the World governing body for karting. This is a natural progression after our MIC race track received Grade-2 certification from FIA.”

Chief guest Arun Mammen, Vice-Chairman and Managing Director, MRF Tyres, said: “MRF has been India’s leading tyre company for four decades, and continues to be the pioneer in developing and supporting motorsport not just in India, but also globally.

“It is a matter of pride that we won back-to-back European Rally Championship in 2022 and 2023 with tyres developed and manufactured in India. Also, MRF tyre is the choice for events not only in India, but also control tyre World-wide like the FIA South American Rally Championship, and the National Rally championship in Uruguay, Paraguay, Australia and New Zealand.”

Ajit Thomas, President, MMSC, said: “We appreciate the support from MRF Tyres and also TVS and Honda India. We made some upgrades especially with regard to the timing equipment. We hope to inaugurate the CIK-approved international standard karting track later this year.”

The list of National champions who were presented with the trophies are:


Pro-Stock 301-400cc: Rider Champion – Rajiv Sethu (Chennai, RACR Castrol Power1 Ultimate). Team Champion – Petronas TVS Racing. Manufacturer champion – Yamaha.

Pro-Stock 165cc: Rider – KY Ahamed (Chennai, Petronas TVS Racing). Team – Petronas TVS Racing. Manufacturer – Yamaha

Novice (Stock 165cc): Rider – Vignesh Goud (Hyderabad, Race’ists Motorcycle Club). Team – Axor Sparks Racing. Manufacturer – Yamaha.

Girls (Stock 165cc): Rider – Lani Zena Fernandez (Puducherry, RACR Castrol Power1 Ultimate). Team – Alpha Racing. Manufacturer – Yamaha.

TVS Open (Apache RR 310): Rider – Chiranth Vishwanath (Bengaluru).

TVS Girls (Apache RTR 200): Rider – Nithila Das (Bengaluru).

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup – Open (NSF 250R): Rider – Kavin Quintal (Chennai).


MRF Formula 2000: Driver champion – Sandeep Kumar (Chennai).

MRF Formula 1600: Driver – Chetan Surineni (Bengaluru).

Indian Touring Cars: Driver – Gurunath Meiyappan (Chennai, Race Concepts). Team champion – Race Concepts.

Indian Junior Touring Cars: Driver – Deepak Ravikumar (Chennai, Team Performance Racing). Team – Performance Racing.

Super Stock: Driver – Diljith TS (Thrissur, DTS Racing). Team – Redline Racing, Chennai. Formula LGB 1300: Driver – Diljith TS (Thrissur, DTS Racing). Team – DTS Racing.

MRF Saloons (Toyota Etios): Driver – Angad Matharo (Chandigarh, Redline Racing).



bottom of page