top of page

Jordi Tixier provides scintillating start to inaugural Indian Supercross League

Pune, 28 January 2024: Top French rider Jordi Tixier of BB Racing, the 2018 Motocross World Champion, provided an exhilarating start to the inaugural CEAT Indian Supercross Racing League (ISRL) winning a triple but it was BigRock Motorsports from Bengaluru, who gained the lead in the Team Championship with more points taking podiums in every race as the historic championship began at the Chattrapathi Shivaji Stadium under floodlights here on Sunday.


With a mammoth crowd cheering and applauding, the French champion, currently in the ADAC Masters Championship, won the first Moto of SX1, the 450cc race for international riders. By the end of the first lap, he took a comfortable 25-metre lead and went on to increase the gap with every passing lap and won the inaugural moto with ease and grace. Later, he made no fuss of the second Moto and took a well-deserved victory, despite a fall, as he was streets ahead of the rest. Finally, he capped a successful day winning the ‘All Stars’ race, a combined event for both the 450cc and 250cc riders.


Junior rider, the 13-year old Brian Gyles of Thailand, a Mx Masterkids 2022 vice-champion, riding 567 number bike won the hearts of the crowd and received a huge applause as he lapped everyone with his amazing speed and thrilling jumps. He was streets ahead of the rest in the Junior event and won without a challenge.


In the first moto of the first round, behind him another champion rider, Matt Moss of Australia, from BigRock Motorsports had to be content with a second place after losing the hole shot and an advantage in the initial race. Riding a Honda 450cc, Tixier set the pace for the rest of the motos in the first round of the league. Matt Moss, astride a Kawasaki 450cc began well for the Bengaluru-based BigRock and will be looking to redeem his fortunes in the next two rounds.


In Race 2 (SX2), Aussie Reid Taylor took the holeshot leaving the two Frenchmen Hugo Manzato and Julien Lebeau, to fight behind him for second place along with American Nick Laurie. After the triple jump in the second lap, Monzato overtook Laurie and later with Taylor pulling off a huge gap, Monzato settled for second and Lebeau took third as Laurie lost his way. Astride a Kawasaki 250cc, the Aussie, Taylor, clocked 11min, 19.680sec, for the 17-lap race.


In Race 3 for the 250cc India and Asia riders, Ben Prasit Hallgren of Thailand took the hole shot and sneaked into the lead with compatriot Athison Ruadero and Thanarat Penjan fighting behind him for a second place. But after a few laps, Hallgren had a fall leaving the lead to Thanarat Penjan, who had a steady race and won comfortably astride a Kawasaki 250cc ahead of Ruadero in second and Sarthak Chavan of India completed the podium. Penjan clocked 9min, 54.877seconds in the 14-lap thriller. Rugved Barguje, the National Supercross champion 2023, could only take a fourth place.


In the Feature Race of the night, the All Stars race for both the 250cc and 450cc riders, Frenchman Jordie Tixier lost the holeshot to Italian Lorenzo Camporese, but quickly recovered and grabbed back the lead before the first big jump and Lorenzo lost his position to Kawasaki riders Matt Moss of Australia and Charles Lefrancois of France taking second and third behind Tixier, who lapped three riders by the fourth lap and went on to increase the gap for a commanding victory, the third crown on the day. “The Indian League is very successful and it proved a big success for me too. This is the first time in India for me and I am super happy with the winning start. It always feels good to start with three big victories,” quipped the Frenchman after winning the final race of the day.


BigRock ahead in Team Championship


BigRock Motorsport surprised the Pune crowd by taking the podium in all categories at the first CEAT Indian Supercross Racing League (ISRL), a pioneering franchise-based Supercross competition, held at Pune.


Season 1 first round held at Pune displayed an impressive line-up of international champions and emerging Indian stars across four categories: 450cc international riders, 250cc international riders, 250cc India-Asia mix, and the fiercely competitive 85cc junior class. With top riders from around the world converging in India, the series is expected to serve the Indian riders to reach the next level.

Veer Patel, Co-founder and Director of the CEAT Indian Supercross Racing League, expressed his satisfaction at the successful completion of the first round of Season 1. "We are overwhelmed by the response we received from the Pune crowd and the enthusiasm was unbeatable. The CEAT Indian Supercross Racing League, aims to establish India as the focal point for Supercross for the world. The riders displayed their unmatchable skills and the commitment for the sport. We appreciate the strong participation and grit to win the race by all individuals. We congratulate the winners and the teams for their amazing participation. At CEAT ISRL, we look forward to delivering an exceptional experience for fans in Ahmedabad too in the next round." The final round will be in New Delhi.



Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page