top of page

Gaurav Gill clinches 7th Karnataka-1000 title

• Gaurav Gill clinches 7th Karnataka-1000 title

• Fabid Ahmer, Aditya Thakur top in respective categories

Bengaluru: A damaged windscreen, electrical and turbo issues besides

brake failure did not stop Gaurav Gill and co-driver Musa Sherif from winning the 45th

Karnataka-1000 Rally, the second round of the FMSCI Indian National Rally

Championship 2021 with MRF Tyres as the Associate Sponsor, on Sunday near the

town of Gubbi, about 100 Kms from Bengaluru.

Delhi-based Gill, the seven-times National champion and thrice winner of the FIA

Asia-Pacific Rally titles, exercised all his experience and driving skills to bring the

Mahindra XUV 300 back to the parc ferme, something he couldn’t in the first round at

Coimbatore last month. In the process, the Arjuna Award winner successfully

countered a strong challenge from Younus Ilyas (Anirudha Ranganekar) of Race Concepts who finished Overall second, about 15 seconds behind, while Fabid Ahmer

(Sanath G) was placed third.

It was Gill’s seventh K-1000 title while for Sherif, from Kasargod, it was a memorable

victory that marked his 300th Rally milestone.

Ahmer topped in the INRC-2 category while the Himachal combination of Aditya Thakur and co-driver Virender Kashyap, Overall winners in Coimbatore, last month,

took the honours in the INRC-3 category, and Mumbai’s daughter-mother pairing of

Shivani and Vani Parmar won in the INRC-4 class. The Junior INRC category had

just two finishers with Coimbatore’s Raghuram Saminathan (Bharath SM, Bengaluru)

winning ahead of Shivani Pruthvi from Davangere (Ruthvik Praveen, Tiptur).

“Undoubtedly, today’s win is very satisfying considering the difficult weekend we had

and the non-finish in the Coimbatore round. We had electrical problems, then the

damaged windscreen when the bonnet flew open in the very first Stage. So, we lost

a bit of time as we had to stop and lock the bonnet. Then, in the last Stage, I had to

negotiate the last six-seven Kms without brakes which again cost us time. But in the

end, I am happy we finished the Rally and won,” said Gill.

Chandigarh’s Samrat Yadav (M Chandrashekar, Bengaluru) emerged champion in

the non-championship FMSCI Gypsy Challenge category.

Of the 53 entrants, 31 completed the two-day Rally. The final day’s proceedings

were delayed due to interruptions of SS-8 following mishaps.

Classification (Provisional):

Overall / INRC: 1. Gaurav Gill (Delhi) / Musa Sherif (Kasargod) (01hr, 38mins,

37.800secs); 2. Younus Ilyas (Kollam) / Anirudha Ranganekar (Pune) (Race

Concepts) (01:038:53.200); 3. Fabid Ahmer / Sanath G (both Palakkad)


INRC-2: 1. Fabid Ahmer / Sanath G (both Palakkad) (01:43:50:900); 2. Sahil Khanna

(Gurugram) / Harish KN (Bengaluru) (01:46:21.600); 3. Lakshay Veer Dabas (Delhi) /

Arjun Dheerendra (Bengaluru) (01:51:33.100).

INRC-3: 1. Aditya Thakur / Virender Kashyap (both Himachal) (Chettinad Sporting)

(01:46:29.700); 2. Kuber Sharma / Karan Aukta (both Himachal) (01:47:21.200); 3.

Sanampreet Sekhon (Chandigarh) / Suhan Kabeer (Kodagu) (01:48:05.300).

INRC-4: 1. Shivani Parmar / Vani Parmar (both Mumbai) (02:14:56.700); Deepak

Chandra / CG Raghuram (both Bengaluru, SNAP Racing) (02:16:01.500); 3.

Prakhyat Shirole /Arjun SSB (both Bengaluru, Ammyfield Rallying) (02:17:19.000).

Junior INRC (2 finishers): 1. Raghuram Saminathan (Coimbatore) / Bharath SM

(Bengaluru) (02:02:07.300); 2. Shivani Pruthvi (Davangere) / Ruthvik Praveen

(Tiptur) (02:14:23.800).

FMSCI Gypsy Challenge: 1. Samrat Yadav (Chandigarh) / M Chandrashekar

(Bengaluru) (01:49:49.000); 2. Rupender Sheoran (Gurugram) / Mohit Malik

(Faridabad) (01:57:01.300); 3. Venkatapathy Mettuchetty / Santosh Kumar Selvaraj

(both Coimbatore) (01:59:41.500).


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page